Applicable plans
Sprout Blossom Garden* EstateForest


Traditionally, you've been able to assign roles and scopes for your sales reps by choosing from a broad set of default roles and scopes in Freshsales. 

 

With custom roles, you can now create roles from the ground-up and vary the scope for every sales rep. Which means you get to define exactly what you want each user to see, do, and act on. 

 

Earlier, these were the default roles and scopes:




With this feature update, you’ll be able to configure each role by choosing relevant permissions. 




To get a better idea of how to create customized roles, read this article.



Here is a quick overview of what has changed for you: 


  1. Roles and scopes can be defined for each entity


For entities like leads and deals, you can decide if a user can see them, and if they can, you also define what users can do with these entities. This means granting  the permission to view, create, edit and delete these entities (like the CRUD functions).

 

While setting permissions, you also get to mix and match the scope of data access. So for the same user, you can choose to have a global scope of leads with view, create, edit and delete permissions, and a restricted scope of deals with only view, create and edit permissions. 


  1. New types of permissions you can configure

  • Module permissions: Manage users’ access to the following modules—leads, deals, accounts, contacts, tasks and appointments. If you disable a module, it is removed from Freshsales (left navigation, list view, landing view, related lists in other modules, reports).

  • Action permissions: Decide if your users can perform different actions across Freshsales like import, convert, bulk-update and bulk-assign.

  • Report permissions: Decide how your users should work with reports—whether they can view, create, edit, delete or export them.

  • Admin Settings permissions: Manage your admin’s access to the Admin Settings page—what they can do with workflows and territories, whether they can migrate from another CRM, export their data and more.

  1. What happens to my current roles and scopes?

We’ve combined three types of permissions i.e. role-based, scope-based and user-based permissions (which include Forget records, Access reports and Export reports), so you’re always looking at a single interface where all permissions blend seamlessly. 



For instance, if you have 3 users Joe, Harry and Tom with the following permissions: 


Before

Joe 

Role : User

Scope : Territory

Reports and Dashboards :

- Allow access to reports

- Do not allow export of reports

Forget Records :

Allow access to forget the records

Harry

Role : User

Scope : Global

Reports and Dashboards :

- Do not allow access to reports

- Do not allow export of reports

Forget Records :

Do not allow access to forget the records

Tom

Role : Manager

Scope : Territory

Reports and Dashboards :

- Allow access to reports

- Allow export of reports

Forget Records :

Allow access to forget the records

Now

Joe

Role: Territory user with limited report access and with forget record permissions

Harry

Role : Global users with no report access and no forget record permissions

Tom 

Role : Territory manager with all report access and forget record permissions



  1. Will any permissions be revoked or added for my users?

    A few permissions have been added / revoked for users. Here’s a breakdown by each role:

  • Restricted User: They cannot access reports and forget records. This is in line with their current inability to delete records.
  • User: No permissions are revoked for Users. We will create as many combinations of roles as you have for users in your account.
  • Manager: Managers can access and export reports, and forget records. If you’ve configured a manager with limited report access, we’ve changed the role to User and retained the permissions you defined. No other permission of the user changes; only the role name changes.
  • Admin and Account Admin: All admins and account admins have permission to access and export reports, and forget records.




  1. From which plan is this feature available?

Roles feature is available from Garden Plan onwards.


However, for all plans, we will create roles to support existing user permissions, so that this feature update is compatible with your current Freshsales.


Plan

Sprout

Blossom

Garden

Estate

Forest

No. of default roles we will create to support existing users profiles

As many combinations of permissions as present in your user profiles

As many combinations of permissions as present in your user profiles

As many combinations of permissions as present in your user profiles

As many combinations of permissions as present in your user profiles

As many combinations of permissions as present in your user profiles

No. of new roles you can create

0

0


0*

(Can modify existing roles)

30 new roles

(Can also modify existing roles)


50 new roles

(Can also modify existing roles)