Applicable plans
Sprout Blossom Garden* EstateForest


Freshsales allows Admins to control permissions given to a user on the roles provided and create new roles based on the roles present in the organization.




How does this work?

Let us consider an example. 


As a company grows and onboards more users, there is always a need to regulate access for the team members. While a regional sales manager may need to view and edit records such as leads, contacts, accounts, and deals or reports, but may not need access to delete the records.

Similarly, a Sales Development Representatives (SDR) may need access to view and edit leads, but may not need access to delete a lead or export a lead report.  In such cases, Admins can create roles that give right permissions to users in the CRM.  


Freshsales provides 5 roles - Restricted user, User, Manager, Admin and Account Admin. Admins can use these 5 roles as a basis to modify permissions and create customized roles that suits the nature of their organizational hierarchy. 


How to create customized roles in Freshsales?

Here’s how:

  1. Go to Admin Settings  > Roles .

  2. Click . This opens an overlay that allows you to create a new role.

  3. Give a name to the role, choose the role whose permissions you want to be cloned, and click . You will be taken to a page where you can modify all permissions.

    For example, let us create a Sales Development Representative (SDR). You can create an SDR by cloning the permissions from a User.

  1. Click  to proceed. 

  2. Choose the relevant permissions for the role. There are 4 categories of permissions which users can be provided:

  • Modules Permissions: Allows admins to configure module-level permissions for users. Admins can modify scope to one of the 4 actions:
        1. View - View records based on the scope
        2. Create - Create a record
        3. Edit - Create your records
        4. Delete - Delete your records

    This covers Leads, Contacts, Accounts, Deals, Tasks, and Appointments.

    In the case of our example, for a Regional Sales Manager, you can choose to allow access to View, Create, and Edit a record while disable access to delete the record.



  • Actions Permissions: All record-related actions such as Import, Assign, Share fall under this category.

    In the case of our example, for a Regional Sales Manager, you can choose to allow access to all actions except importing and merging deal records.


  • Reports Permissions: All permissions related to reports falls under this category. Admins can modify scope to reports-related features by checking/unchecking the options.

    In the case of our example, for a Regional Sales Manager, you can grant access to all reports-related permission except that of Export Deal Reports. This will allow the user to create reports but will not allow them to export a deal report.




    Note: All permissions under reports are dependent on the ‘View reports’ permission. Unchecking view reports would disable reports completely for the user and hide the reports and dashboards  buttons from the user’s Freshsales application.



  • Admin Permissions: All permissions related to Admin settings falls under this category. Admins can configure access to Admin settings by checking/unchecking the options.

    In the case of our example, for a Regional Sales Manager, you can disable access to manage users or export data and restrict their role to access only workflows and territories.



    Note: All permissions under reports are dependent on the ‘Access Admin Settings’ permission. Unchecking this option would disable Admin Settings functionality for the user and hide the buttons from the user’s Freshsales application.



6. Click  button to save the role. 



How to add users to a customized role?


  1. Go to Admin Settings > Roles > Manage Roles.

  2. Click on . You will be presented with a Assign users overlay.

  1. Select a user by clicking on the check box  next to the user.

  2. Click . The user will be assigned to the role.


What are the plan limits for this feature?

Plan

Garden

Estate

Forest

No. of new roles that can be created 

0*

Can edit only  default non admin roles.

30 roles
(can also modify existing roles) 

50 roles

(can also modify existing roles)





What happens when I downgrade from my existing plan?


When you opt to downgrade from an existing plan, here’s what will happen:


- For a Forest user downgrading to Estate:

  • All your existing roles will remain. 

  • You will not be able to add/edit any role unless the number of roles falls within the respective plan’s limit i.e 10 new roles for Estate. This means if you have 30 custom roles, you will not be able to add any new roles or edit the existing roles until you delete the roles to be within plan limits. 


- For a Forest user downgrading to Garden or below:

  • All custom roles will be disabled and the scope of the users that do not belong to admin or account admin roles will be reassigned to ‘Restricted role’ 

  • All default roles will be restored to original settings.